Rambling Chicken Lady? Not so much…

The notion of “rambling:” having no roots and absolutely nothing to keep you in one place is a very romantic idea to many people, including myself. Maybe you could blame it on overplaying the song “Rambling man,” while mucking stalls, or watching Thelma and Louise too many times on my day off. Either way, when I got the call last month for a job offer at a new farm, far away, I took a deep breath, exhaled my nerves, and packed my bags for the unknown.

Have you ever heard the country song “Heart of Dixie?” On the very day that I started the engine in my beat-up Honda Civic for the long drive to the new place and took one last glance in my rear view mirror, that exact song came on through the speakers. The thought then occurred to me,  “Hey I’m just like the girl in this song, leaving it all behind and moving south! I’m a rambling woman!” Unfortunately, my situation was not nearly as cool as hers, and my “south,” was about as far as Connecticut… not romantic at all.

One part of the new place: Woodstock Sustainable Farms!

The new place: Woodstock Sustainable Farms!

These days, I’m using my super-duper chicken lady skills at Woodstock Sustainable Farms (surprise, surprise, it’s located in Woodstock Ct). Not only do we raise our own meat and produce, but as part of the farm, we hire chefs and nutritionists that prepare this food into healthy meals and sell them as part of a meal plan to business employees. My official title on the website is “Director of Public Relations and Chickens,” in other words, I’m still able to get as dirty as I like, working on the farm when needed, but I also get to hone my writing skills, and crack as many painfully corny farm jokes to anyone who dares to come within a ten-foot radius.Good thing the Chicken lady wasn’t TOO chicken to move to Connecticut………(Sorry, I couldn’t help it.)

Right after helping deliver a couple baby lambs last weekend. Don't be fooled, although I do some farm work, Will Kirk is the one who deserves all the credit. That man has stayed up many nights with the newborns!

Right after helping deliver a couple baby lambs last weekend. Don’t be fooled, although I do some farm work, Will Kirk is the one who deserves all the credit. That man has stayed up many nights with the newborns!

As for the farm that Steve and I were living and working at, because we split-up some time ago, Steve was more than happy to stay living there.  I wouldn’t trust any other person to baby my sweet Emily, the lamb, except him!

Just a little note to my Shaker Village Family and all the visitors with their kids who have become good friends of mine:

So much of who I am: my values, my passions, and even my personality has been carved out by Shaker Village and all you wonderful people I’ve met there. From the first day my sixteen-year-old self  walked into the barn and caught my first whiff of the sweet smell of hay, I knew the farm was the environment I belonged, and for that, Shaker Village will always be my one true home. From time to time I will return to keep my  oxen trained and to give the backyard chicken workshop this June. We all know l I could never leave that place for good!

4 thoughts on “Rambling Chicken Lady? Not so much…

Leave a Reply

