I almost get trampled and Emily gets a wagon ride.

“I thought I was going to lose my team of oxen and wagon this week.”

A sentence like this is not commonly uttered by a 24 year old girl in the year 2013, but as it stands, I share many of my daily problems with that of an 1840’s pioneer, and a 90’s middle school student, playing Oregon Trail in computer class.

Here’s what happened. On Monday afternoon, I decided it was time to hitch Merle and Roy up to the big wagon for the first time. I pulled the wagon out of the barn to a safe, flat location where they could be hitched.

hhh

Unfortunately, I didn’t prepare for the boys to spook!  Moments after I hitched them up, Merle and Roy jumped at the sound of the wheels behind them, thinking they were being chased,  and sprinted straight for the side of the earth ramp that leads to the second floor of the round barn. Lucky for me, the ramp stopped them and the wagon before they crashed into anything and before I ended up being run over trying to stop them!

After my nerves settled down and I stopped shaking, I tried hitching them up again. This time, Merle and Roy realized it was only a wagon making the noise and remained calm. We walked all over Shaker Village and we even gave Emily, the lamb, a ride!

Do you see Emily?

Do you see Emily?

Everywhere those oxen went the lamb was  sure to go

Everywhere those oxen went the lamb was sure to go

kk

2 thoughts on “I almost get trampled and Emily gets a wagon ride.

Leave a Reply

