The boys are back in action!

This spring has been an experience. In the past two months, I’ve dealt with two back injuries as a result of being a bit overzealous in my farm work-ethic. Consequently, I can now say with some degree of authority that there is very fine line between being a hard worker and being your own bully. I crossed it. Since then, I’ve taken a mental red pen to all the things I could have done and will do differently; I’ve laughed at the fact that I’d rather be a crazed worker than a lazy one; and I’ve chalked it up to another thing in life that my stubborn self learns the hard way.

Sounds an awful lot like a country song doesn’t it?

But now I’m back in forward motion. The whole injury thing really put a damper on training Merle and Roy. For the past couple months, the two of them have enjoyed a serious break from getting worked, and they are almost as rusty as the tiller that I’d like them to pull!  Even this winter, the amount of opportunities I had to train them were minimal at best, (about once a week).  We have a lot of catching up to do, but I’m prepared. I’ve dusted off a larger sized yolk and have big plans. No matter how much my guys test me, I’m staying with this!

    We tried plowing a few times. (Al helped me out). They tested me every bit of the way, but by our fourth training session this week, I already noticed a definite improvement, especially in Merle, my near ox, who initially resisted working the most.

With the help of our farm staff  Al, we tried plowing a few times. The boys tested me every bit of the way, but by our fourth training session this week, I already noticed a definite improvement, especially in Merle, my near ox, who initially resisted working the most.

trouble

Just brought them out to pasture and they’re already getting into mischief!

holding Merle

Keeping Merle still for the kids.

Tall, dark, and handsome

(Thank you Julie Smith for the pictures.)

2 thoughts on “The boys are back in action!

Leave a Reply

