“Yes Officer, I am bottle feeding a lamb while driving.”

The week-old Merino lamb, Emily, who is currently in my care.

The week-old Merino lamb, Emily, who is currently in my care.

I wonder if a police officer would actually give me ticket for bottle feeding a lamb while driving my car. The officer who’d do such a thing and keep a straight face would either be someone who was unloved as a child or has no soul. I rather not find out.

More and more, I find myself getting closer to being in such a situation. Twice this week, I’ve steered my car with a lamb, crawling on my lap and nosing at my neck in search of milk. I would’ve put her in a crate, but my baby chicks have already taken up residence in it and we all know where my priorities lie when chickens are involved. . .

The lamb and I driving down the road would make a perfect All-State Health Insurance commercial. The TV would show me behind the wheel, with the All State guy sitting on my lap dressed in lambs ears and a wool suit. He would poke his painted pink nose in front of my face and beg for his bottle, distracting me long enough to steer us into a ditch. He would then lean his head out of the driver’s seat of my smoking car, smirk at the camera and say, “Choose All-State, so you can save money and be better protected from mayhem like me.”

Nothing beats the looks on the faces of the people passing through the convenience store parking lot who notice this little girl waiting for me in the driver's seat!

Nothing beats the looks on the faces of the people passing through the convenience store parking lot who notice this little girl waiting for me in the driver’s seat!

The reason I am toting around my new little lamb, Emily, is because she has become the poster child for the baby animals event coming to Hancock Shaker Village from April 13th to May 5th. Though she lives at my new farm in Richmond, she was born at Shaker Village (my workplace) and will be present there during most of the three-week event. Miss Emily is in my care because her real mother could not produce enough milk for both her and her twin. The day she was born, Billy Mangiardi called me from the farm and said, “I’ve got a little lamby here that needs a mom.” Of course I couldn’t say no, so in the past week, I’ve carted my little celebrity back and forth from my farm to the television studio in Pittsfield, and most recently to the radio studio at Taconic High School where both Billy and I were interviewed about the coming event.DSCF6503

This year, most of our babies were born before the event, so here’s a behind-the-scenes look at one of our mother sheep giving birth. She gives the term “walk it off” a whole new meaning! Check out the clip below. (Disregard the 1970s background music.)

3 thoughts on ““Yes Officer, I am bottle feeding a lamb while driving.”

  1. Hi Laura. My wife Cathy and I spent my birthday with you and Emily on the 13th. Best birthday ever. Can’t stop thinking about Em and the rooster that feel asleep in my arms. You have a great job and great feature. Would love to volunteer to work for a week or 2 this summer. LOVE IT. we’ll be reading the blog. Best Jill

    Like

Leave a Reply

