Eye of the Ox

Here’s the difference between how I wanted yesterday’s training session to go, and how it really went.

Ideally, I wanted  the boys to pull Steve on the tire. (They are absolutely strong enough to do this.)

Ideally, I wanted to drive the boys while they pulled Steve on the tire. (They are absolutely strong enough to do this.  I tried it and the boys made one feeble attempt before giving up).

Instead, the boys pulled ME on the tire. (Note: It’s not always a good idea to have two different people working a team of oxen because  it tends to confuse them. Yesterday I made an exception because I felt the boys really needed to raise their pulling weight and I had nothing else to use.

Instead, the boys pulled ME on the tire. (Note: It’s not always a good idea to have two different people working a team of oxen because it tends to confuse them. Yesterday I made an exception because I felt the boys really needed to raise their pulling weight and I had nothing else to use.

 

Now that the boys are working with more serious weight, I warm them up by starting the training session pulling minimal weight and then working my way towards the heavier loads. Yesterday, I took advantage of their eagerness to head back to the barn by making them pull their heaviest amount (me) for that last stretch back.

If I ever try to get them to pull Steve again, I’m going to have to bring a stereo and play some kind of motivational hair metal song. Anything off the Rocky soundtrack ALWAYS works for me!

“Eye of the Tiger” perhaps?   More like Eye of the Ox!

 

Leave a Reply

