Cold Hands Today!

The older you get, the harder it is to find things in life that keep you in the moment. I feel very lucky to have stumbled upon training these steers. No matter what kind of day I’m having or how exhausted I feel, the second I get the boys hitched up and moving, my thoughts center only on the moment at hand.  Today, I even forgot how freezing I was!

When I hitch the boys into their yolk, my gloves have to come off  to undo the two bows and pull the pins out. Unfortunately, in this kind of cold, my hands numb up very quickly and I have to be extra careful not to drop the pins and lose them in the snow. 115_1822

The boys are always hitched in the same position: Merle stands on the left, Roy stands on the right, and as a trainer, I am always working them from their left, (Merle’s side). Being closer to Merle, allows me to give him that extra push in order for him to keep up with the slightly stronger Roy.

Roy on the left, Merle on the right.

I always feed Merle a little bit more grain than Roy so that his growth can catch up!

I always feed Merle a little bit more grain than Roy so that his growth can catch up!

After use, it's always a good idea to hang the yolk in a cool, dry area off the ground.

After use, it’s always a good idea to hang the yolk in a cool, dry area off the ground.

4 thoughts on “Cold Hands Today!

Leave a Reply

